National Information Centre

Quality Assurance and Accreditation

Higher Education Commission

The Higher Education Commission (HEC) is the government-mandated regulatory and quality assurance body for higher education in the country. The HEC oversees the development and improvement of higher education in Fiji with the aim of ensuring that learners have the best possible opportunity to gain relevant qualifications required to support and sustain Fiji’s economic and social prosperity. The HEC regulates the registration and operation of all higher education (HE) institutions, ensuring they meet quality standards and guidelines that reflect national and international imperatives. It is also responsible for establishing and maintaining the Fiji National Qualifications Framework (FNQF) which enable Fiji qualifications to be measured both in Fiji and internationally. The HEC was established as a statutory body in 2010 under the Higher Education Act 2008. Under the Act, Higher Education (HE) refers to all post-secondary school learning opportunities in Fiji.


Fiji Qualifications Council

The Fiji Qualifications Council was established to administer and maintain the functions relating to the Fiji National Qualifications Framework (FNQF), such that the FNQF, stands as a beacon and reference for socio-economic planning. The Council is guided by the Higher Education (Qualifications) Regulations 2010 and the Higher Education (Qualifications) (Amendment) 2013. The Council is also responsible for accrediting qualifications at Levels 1 – 6 on the FNQF and reviews such qualifications every five years to ensure currency and adherence to acceptable and relevant standards of teaching, learning and assessment. The Committee for the Accreditation of University Qualifications (CAUQ) complements the FQC in accrediting qualifications at Levels 7 – 10 on the FNQF.


Industry Standards Advisory Committees

The Industry Standards Advisory Committees (ISACs) comprise individuals with professional standing and experience in their various trades and professions who are appointed by the HEC to develop National Qualifications (NQs) in Levels 1 – 6 on the Fiji Qualifications Framework (FNQF). Membership is drawn from industry, professional associations, accrediting agencies and Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). ISAC members are trained and registered by the Higher Education Commission (HEC) and they ensure that training and assessment meet industry requirements and that each qualification outlines the minimum number of unit standards a learner must achieve in any particular field.


Ministry of Education, Heritage and Arts

The Ministry of Education, Heritage and Arts is the Government’s lead advisor on the education system, shaping direction for education agencies and providers and contributing to the Government’s goals for education. The ministry is responsible for designing, implementing, monitoring, and evaluating Fiji’s educational legislations, policies, and plans and providing structure, human resources, budget, and administrative and managerial support to ensure that services are maintained at a high level.


Tertiary Education Loans Service

Tertiary Education Loans Service is responsible for funding tertiary education in Fiji, assisting our people to reach their full potential, and contributing to the social and economic well-being of the country.

Have a question or require additional information? Please feel free to contact us!

Skip to content